Bacon Wrapped Sausage with Apples

This was a amazing new recipe we came across when I was struggling to find new things to eat because of my allergies. At first glance we weren’t sure but it turned out way better then I thought it would. The original recipe and all the credit for this one can be found HERE

INGREDIENTS

  • 8 good quality sausages (beef, pork, or game meat)
  • 8 good quality bacon slices
  • 1 cup of mixed berries
  • 2 to 3 apples, cut into wedges
  • Cooking fat

PREPARATION

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 F.
  2. Roll one slice of bacon around each sausage, and tie with cooking twine.
  3. Melt some cooking fat in a Dutch oven or roasting pan over a high heat. I ended up just using a frying pan and moving the drippings and sausages into the Dutch/Roasting pan.
  4. Brown each sausage on all sides.
  5. Place the Dutch oven or pan in the oven and roast for 20 minutes.
  6. Toss in the apples and berries, and cook for another 10 to 15 minutes.

FATJESSE NOTES

  • We used fairly thick bacon but that wasn’t the best. In this case I actually think thin and cheeper bacon would be better (more fat)
  • Because of my allergies we used smokies and it worked just as well, but I do think sausages work better.
